Home Ratings & Reviews
Options

Fourto Review

My 1st attempt at a review.
Arturo Fuente Grand Reserve Maduro
Robusto 4.5x50 (Although AF doesnt call it a Robusto, they call it a Chateau Fuente)
Wrapper - Connecticut Maduro
Binder - ??
Filler - AF Dominican
Ok, so on the car ride home last night I lit up an Arturo Fuente Grand Reserve Maduro. It was the robusto size (but they dont call it a Robusto 4.5 x 50). So I did try to review it sitting in my car before leaving the work parking lot.

Wrapper: Dark, not the black like many maduro's, but a nice dark brown, not very oily more toothy. Veins in the wrapper were few and far between and thin when you could make them out. One problem with the wrapper was a small 'chip' in one of the turns due to poor handling.
Smell: Real Tobacco, Ive heard Barnyard be used and that may have applied, but a strong tobacco smell --Im new at this so that is all I got of the whiff--

Lick the cap: I have never done this before, but see a few people do it here so here goes. --I got no flavor, but could feel the niccotine immediately hit my tongue.

I cut this with a double guillotine just enough to get a nice ring off the bottom (I dont know maybe 1/32 of an inch)

INSERT EDIT - I was asked about the draw pre light and I can only remember that I didnt recongnize any problems with the draw -- Not too tight or not too loose--

Here is where the fun begins -- I light it with a single flame torch. It lights up nicely, I blow on the end to ensure a nice even light.

INSERT EDIT -- I recently lit up a cigar with my torch lighter in the dark and realized that I have been cooking my sticks. You can really see the torch flame in the dark compared to in sunlight and lit porch etc. So when in doubt keep the torch a little further away!!!!!