Home Ratings & Reviews
Options

Gurkha G3

Well, its a rather common smoke compared to other Gurkha sticks; perhaps not necessarily worthy of a long review, but I am relatively new to cigars, so I've decided to give the review thing a go. The G3 smelled very good, and even though I am a bigger fan of the mild and medium bodied smokes, I read up on this one before I tried it...so I knew what I was in for. I went to my father's house to visit today and he and I each smoked. (He had a ccom Cuban Label which he enjoyed very much btw.) He gave me the G3 because he really doesn't like the full-bodied smokes as much, and although they are not my favorite either, I enjoy trying all different types of smokes to get an idea of the vast multitudes of flavors that I can get on my palette. The pre-light draw was spicy-sweet, probably a combination of the strong spicy fillers and the taste of the maduro wrapper, and it had a very raisiny flavor. The first quarter of this cigar was harsh to my palette, and at first I thought I just might have found a Gurkha that I didn't like. The dominant flavor was certainly pepper, with only hints of peat. The burn was perfectly even and slow. However, after gritting my teeth to get through the first quarter (because I really hate to waste a smoke) the pepper flavor leveled off instead of being overpowering, and it meshed well with the peat, and then a raisin flavor also meshed with the others. As the stick neared the sweet spot, the raisin flavor took over as the prevailing flavor, and the sweet maduro wrapper accented it very well. Either I had gotten used to the strength of the stick, or it wasn't as harsh as the very beginning, but either way, it was so good that I smoked it down to a little nub, and allowed it to go out when it started to get bitter. I guess that not only did I try a different smoke, but the stick taught me a lesson about the different experiences contained within a single smoke, and I was certainly glad that I didn't make