Home Cigar 101

what am i doing wrong?

I am a newbie to be sure and I didn't think smoking would be this hard. For the last few days each stick I try is plugged... or gets plugged? I am currently alternating the last of the machine made grocery store purchases with the Primeros Regionals-Dominicans I picked up here. All was well a week ago but now it is frustrating as each smoke will get tighter and tighter as I smoke it. Am I doing something wrong?

Comments

• sightunseensightunseen Posts: 2,130 ✭✭
    Could be a variety of factors. If your humidity is too high, the filler expands and constricts airflow, leading to a tight draw. Could be the construction of the cigars themselves. How much of the cap are you cutting off? Try snipping a bit more off (as long as the cut remains above the cap line).

You mentioned that the draw gets tighter and tighter as you smoke it. How fast are you smoking? If you smoke too fast, it may increase the tar buildup throughout the course of the smoke, which can create a blockage.
  • Rob1110Rob1110 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭
    All good points, Sight. I'd also recommend switching to a handmade (not just handrolled - and yes, there is a difference) premium. Flavors will be better and construction should be better. Either way, don't get discouraged. It can be an overwhelming hobby at first, but it should be relaxing.
  • laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    It sounded to me as I reead this that the sticks may have been too moist. Sight did ask this question. When a stick is over moist it can start out burning OK but quickly becomes harder and harder to draw from, as the humidity builds in the stick as it is smoked. This causes the tobacco to swell and can completely close off any air spaces between the tobacco and block the draw.

Are you using a humidor? What kind of Hygrometer do you have? Is it calibrated? What RH is your humi holding at?