Home Cigar 101
Options

Building a cigar?

beatnicbeatnic Posts: 4,133
Dwelling on this stick that I'm smoking, noticing the changes as it progresses down the length and just wondered. Has anyone rolled a cigar with different leaves along the length of the cigar? Say big ligero flavor at the foot and milder further down? Just curious. Figured someone here might know.

Comments

• Options
    blurrblurr Posts: 962 ✭✭
    I'm pretty much a noob myself, but I know some other brothers here can answer that for you, but from reading around a bit myself I think its because cigars aren't rolled that way, the leaves are rolled in a few certain ways but its bunched long-ways so it burns correctly. I think kinda like the leaves are rolled in individual tubes or bunched and rolled so the air passages are in the direction of the length of the cigar, not horizontally across the tube or it prob wouldn't burn at all.
  • Options
    wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭
    I'm no expert on cigar rolling, but I suspect it's because most of the nutrients in every leaf are in the center of the leaf as opposed to the tips. That may be what affects the flavors.
  • Options
    Rob1110Rob1110 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭
    Wayne touched on it a bit. Each leaf has a "sweet spot" where most of the flavor/nutrients reside. Also, when bunching the leaves, the buncher will start with whole leaves, one at a time, fan them in his palm and when done picking the blend, will tear off the excess at the end and bunch it back in. Therefore, parts of the cigar may end up with slighly more ligero because an extra bit of that leaf ended up in that portion of the cigar. Tough to explain, but watch some youtube videos of cigars being bunched and you'll see what I'm talking about.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    beatnic: