Home Cigar 101

Seasoning the humidor mistake

rad1964rad1964 Posts: 190 ✭✭
I am new to cigars. Started the last few months. I received a nice humidor that holds 50-75 cigars. So far, so good... I threw in the seasoning packet - 84% - wait a minute... yup 84%, I made a mistake of ordering it instead of the 72%.

It suggests on the package to wait approximately 2 weeks. However, it's been only 3 days since I put it in. I decided to calibrate my hydrometer which it is sitting in the bag that came with the humidor (says 24-36 hrs).

So what I was going to do, since I am a newbie :( was toss in my hydrometer when it got calibrated. Wait until the humidity reached 72-75% and then toss out the 84% pack and toss in the 'cigar saver' tube of propylene glycol (activated) (I have 2 tubes) and call it good, regardless if the 2 weeks had been reached or not.

Is this the right approach?

Thanks,
Robert

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    ive never used the seasoning packet. I always just use distilled water and a shallow dish. (or two)

i put the dish in at night as i do the salt test on the hygrometer. then i put the hygrometer in the humidor the morning and move the dish to a different spot in the humi. once the humidor is about 70%(ish) i put my beads in and get it to level out. then add cigars.

this takes about 36-48 hours.

so yes. thats about right what you are doing. its just a different humidification media.

BTW
    a hydrometer is an instrument for determining the specific gravity of a liquid, commonly consisting of a graduated tube weighted to float upright in the liquid whose specific gravity is being measured.

where as a hygrometer is any instrument for measuring the water-vapor content of the atmosphere.
  • Russ55Russ55 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭