Home Ratings & Reviews

Jacob's Reviews

Hey there! My name is Jacob and I am relatively new to the world of cigars. I am an avid wine drinker but am currently working in Iraq without access to alcohol. Because I can't have wine I decided to try my hand at cigars and I have developed a new hobby.

What I always loved about wine were the subtle differences from each winemaker. I find it amazing that the same variety of grape can be grown in two areas and those grapes will produce two strikingly different wines. I have found the same fascination with cigars. I love how two different cigar makers will blend together their toboccos to come up with two very different cigars

So...on to my first review!

Tonight I smoked a RP Edge Corojo Missile (5"x48). I like to give my cigars a good pre cut inspection. The construction on this stick was very good. There seemed to be no major flaws or seems. The cap clipped of easily with my double blade cutter. The Edge lit easily and started with a good even burn. Right away this stick started giving off huge clouds of very flavorful smoke. The flavors were very good but hard to figure out at first. I settled in and started giving this stick my full attention and it really opened up about mid-way through the first third. I began exhaling a bit of smoke through my nose and I was really able to pick up some great spice flavors; clove, cinnamon, mace, etc...This cigar made me realize that there is a huge difference between pepper and spice flavors. This cigar definatley had spice flavors with an absence of pepper. Very nice.

These cigars have a reputation for being powerful and this one did not disappoint. I really started to feel it about the midway point. Normally I don't ever feel the body of a cigar until I get down to the band point. All in all this was a very good cigar. Certainly something I will buy more of and keep on hand. They aren't overly priced so they can be smoked with some frequency.