Home Cigar 101

How long before I can taste the different flavors?

BroncoKingsBroncoKings Posts: 34
I've read people tasting coffee, nutty, leather etc. flavors, I can definitely tell between a peppery stick and non pepper. I'm a newbie only 6 months. 

Best Answers

• RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    kuzi16 said:
    It's all different for different people.  It didn't take me too long but I've seen people that never really become able to taste many nuances ever....
    But they still enjoy the hobby. If you put the cigar to your lips and draw and you like it then it is a good cigar
    That's me. I mean I can pick out cocoa and spice. And the smoky flavor of the new fire cured's and occasionally licorice but that's pretty much it. But I've never tried to develop my palette either I just enjoy smoking cigars. 
  • jarublajarubla Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2015 Answer ✓
    I think a large part of it (for me) are the contributing factors. Meaning, what did I eat before, what state of mind am I in, am I smoking slowly, trying to determine the pace at which it should be smoked (sometimes pushing it to the limit before it goes out/before it needs a relight), and writing down what I taste, trying to describe it?

Further, what company am I enjoying? Or am I alone? Sometimes smoking alone is a pleasure; sometimes I wish my wife didn't have to work in a few hours and were with me. 

I do follow convention and try to analyze the cigar in thirds; without fail (again, for me), each cigar starts with a subtle toasty marshmallow-ness in the beginning third. Without fail, it ends in a over the head drubbing of spicy nic hit towards the nub.