Home Ratings & Reviews

Cohiba Red Dot Toro (Tubo)

CrisiusCrisius Posts: 414 ✭✭✭
I want to preface this by saying I don't normally shell out for a single cigar, though I have had a few nice ones sent my way. So my experience on the "higher" end of Cigars is a bit lacking. You see Cohiba in stores and it is demanding a pretty high price, I got this one for 15 bucks, which for someone who has spent 30-40 on 10-20 cigars at a time is well beyond my normal realm. And for the most part, I'm still a relative newbie.

I have noticed in cigars there are a lot of mixing flavors and it takes a more refined palate to pick out different flavors or to enjoy the some of the melding between flavors. I noticed a few things right away. The draw was smooth, probably one of the smoothest I have had, but not THEE smoothest. That came from an Aging Room F44 from @Bigshizza which quickly made it's way on to my favorites list.

I also noticed it tasted very creamy and and a slight nuttiness to it that was familiar to me but wasn't something I could place. Something I hadn't tasted in a very long time. I looked it up when I was done and was told it was French Peanut. Which first scared me as I am deathly allergic to peanuts and peanut products. But after a few hours of not going into anaphylactic shock I stopped worrying.

That said it is one of the better cigars I've had. But I don't know if it was worth 15 dollars, I'd definitely recommend that someone try them, at least once. But it's definitely not your every day cigar unless you were one of the 3 schmucks that recently won the Powerball.

5/5, would definitely recommend it to anyone who has not tried it and would on a special occasion smoke one again.

Comments

• jarublajarubla Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I like the NC Cohibas. Thanks for the review!
    “There’ll be two dates on your tombstone and all your friends will read ’em but all that’s gonna matter is that little dash between ’em.” -Kevin Welch