Home General Discussion

Remote humidity gauge accuracy

Since I am VERY new to this. Is there a remote system that is more accurate than +/-5%? of the ones I have been able to find this seems to be the norm. I dont want to have to open the coolirdor to check so I wanted to go remote. Any help or Ideas?

Comments

• ThanatosPaThanatosPa Posts: 14
    PS this is the unit I am looking at. 
    https://www.lowes.com/pd/AcuRite-Digital-Weather-Station-Wireless-Outdoor-Sensor/999990094?site=shopLocal&cm_mmc=email_bv-_-Question-_-AnswerNotification-_-view_conversation 
     I know it has extra stuff but I like the color screen and the indoor reading as well B)
  • Sketch6995Sketch6995 Posts: 4,495 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2016
    I use the xikar wireless hygrometer.
    I have 3 remote units, 1 in my humidor, and 2 in my coolidor.   you can toggle through all three remotes with the base.
    I had to replace one of the remote units because it was two points off.
    The only thing I don't like about this is you cannot calibrate them yourself. They are Factory calibrated.
    I took one apart, the defective one, to see what was inside.
    I reordered another one and it is correct.
    However, you can't check the calibration by putting them in a ziplock bag. The company recommends that you use a tupperware container with a lid.
    The higher.......the fewer.  ( Alexander Rozhenko)

What you can't forgive......you will become.
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,320 ✭✭✭✭✭
    So once you test them in a Tupperware container and know how far off they are, either high or low, then you're good to go, yes? 

None of the hygrometers I use are able to be calibrated.  They just have a small square of masking tape with "+4" or "-3" on it. 
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • Rockethead26Rockethead26 Posts: 296 ✭✭✭✭
    You can calibrate the SensorPush and monitor the activity on your phone or pad.