Home Cigar 101

Newbie saying hello

Cigar-20011635Cigar-20011635 Posts: 2
edited April 2017 in Cigar 101
Hey all,
im a newbie in this world of cigars as well as this site. As you can tell I can't figure out how to change my screen name but I'll deal with that later!  

I'm from New York and have only been smoking cigars for the last 3-4 months. My friend says that I've bee a bit spoiled. He introduced me to cigars and gave me good cigars to start off with. The first was a drew estate herrera esteli and the second was a hoyo de monterrey epicure especial. I've had a couple cigars in college. But nothing that made me want to continue. Since the I've been going to local lounges and trying cigars that the they recommend me. I feel like when I tell them I'm a newbie, they usually give me cigars that are too mild (nat Sherman) and/or cigars that I didn't enjoy like a sacra folium cigar. 

I caught the bug and already want to buy some cigars to stash in a coolidor that I'm making right now. He desktop humidor already got filled up. My friend tells me that my palate likes the medium - full body cigars. Can anyone give some advice on what cigars I should try?  And how I should buy them. I rather buy at least a pack of 5 since I feel like single sticks are not worth buying in value alone. 

Thanks in advance!  And my favorite drink so far with a cigar is snapple peach ice tea!

Comments

• matkn293matkn293 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome,  I would not tell them a newbie when you enter the lounge.  Rather say, this is what I have smoked and liked and let them lead you in that direction.  There are several different ways on CCOM to get samplers that fit your taste profile.  Look under the sampler selection.  You can also try a cigar of the moth club that will send many different types for you to try.  You can then purchase what you like from there.