Home Cigar 101

HERF-A-DOR

JARREDJARRED Posts: 1
I am rather new to the Cigar world, what is a herf-a-dor. I am currently deployed to Afghanistan and I am wondering if I should purchase a HERF-A-DOR or a Humidor. What is the difference?

Comments

• Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'd say both, one for "home", one for travel.
    WARNING:  The above post may contain thoughts or ideas known to the State of Caliphornia to cause seething rage, confusion, distemper, nausea, perspiration, sphincter release, or cranial implosion to persons who implicitly trust only one news source, or find themselves at either the left or right political extreme.  Proceed at your own risk.  

"If you do not read the newspapers you're uninformed.  If you do read the newspapers, you're misinformed." --  Mark Twain
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    a herf-a-dor is a travel humidor with a rugged exterior. they are pretty much BA if you are taking your cigars anywhere beyond the back yard. i now have 4 of them. (one 5 count, two 10 counts, and a 15 count.) i use the five count almost every day.
    the others i take on longer trips or if i think i will be running into cigar people where trades or sales may be going on.
  • xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Herfador, is this:
    http://www.cigar.com/cigars/viewcigar.asp?prod=M-CIO3400
    or this
    http://www.cigar.com/cigars/viewcigar.asp?prod=M-CIO3540.

Humidor is your typical wooden humi designed for home use. Difference is, you can drop kick a herfador, drown it, and do most whatever you want, and it'll keep your cigars safe and dry; it's a small case designed to stand up to abuse and keep the cigars safe. Downside is that it's smaller - a wooden humidor of almost any size will hold more cigars than a herfador; for that reason, herfadors are only really used on trips (you can get them from a 5-count to a 30-count, depending on your needs), while wooden humidors are used at home.

EDIT - Kuzi beat me to it