Home General Discussion

Just getting started

Hello all. I am new to the hobby of Cigars and was looking for some suggestions on what I should try. I just recently acquired a 30-50 count humidor. I will say that I have not ventured too far out into the various worlds of cigars. I have started myself out on Drew Estate Java Mint cigars and started branching out that way. I have read and heard that buying samplers is the best way to really narrow down my likes and dislikes. 

I am also looking for tips on what percentage humidity boveda packs everyone is using. I have heard many different ways to season a humidor and I have also read through the 102 tips for noobies thread. 

In all of your experiences, should I use the distilled water method of seasoning or just stick to a boveda pack seasoning kit?

What direction or brand or type of cigar should I branch out to from the Java Mint by Drew Estate? Did anyone start with a similar flavored cigar, if so where did you go from there?

Thanks in advance!

-Steve

Comments

• MichaelScottMichaelScott Posts: 13
    Thank you for your tips. Is your use of 69% boveda packs more a personal choice or based on your climate? Why do you suggest avoiding Gurkha’s?
  • firehouseguyfirehouseguy Posts: 996 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Gurka rubicon’s are pretty good
    Cigars were made to be smoked, whiskey was made to be drank and women were made to be loved. The only thing I try to age is myself. 
  • ForMudForMud Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Thank you for your tips. Is your use of 69% boveda packs more a personal choice or based on your climate? Why do you suggest avoiding Gurkha’s?
    Their quality control isn't the best, leading to you having burn issues. Which gets frustrating because you think it's something you've done wrong. 
    Your on the right track when it comes to the sampler packs. Keep an eye on the daily deals on here too.