Home Cigar 101

First humidor how to pick

JohnWJJohnWJ Posts: 11
Hi there to everyone

I am pretty new to cigars have smoke several before but have not had to use a humidor. How do I go about pick one I have looked at getting Gurkha Churchill cigars. Now I am thinking of getting a travel humidor to start is this a good idea 

Thanks in advance
John

A very new cigar smoker 

Comments

• Captain_CallCaptain_Call Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2018
    I used a 40 count xicar travel humi for a few years with great success. It may seem tacky to some people but regular Tupperware will work too or the large storage totes with the foam seal in the lid work awesome as giant humidors. 
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2018
    @JohnWJ John, here's a link to a thread from a few years ago that contains lots of discussion on storage options. Click on it. 

https://forum.cigar.com/discussion/896591/veterans-advice-to-newbie-first-humidor/p1

And before I forget, Welcome to the forum. You can learn more here on this forum in a year than you can in five years of hanging around your local cigar lounge. That's a fact Jack,,... Uh, John. ;)
    Post edited by Bob_Luken on
  • ForMudForMud Posts: 2,336 ✭✭✭✭✭
    My desk top now is used only for the sticks I'll be smoking during the week ahead. It saves opening one of the other coolers everyday.
    Other than looking nice, it was kinda a waste of money.....Should have went with a Tupperware container or a travel humidor.    
  • webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Bob_Luken said: