Home General Discussion

Cigars and High Blood Pressure

I have been smoking on an average 3-5 cigars a day for about 10 years. Before that I was a cigarette smoker for 20 years.

I recently discovered that my blood pressure level was very high 211 over 110. That’s at a hypertension critical level where I’m at risk of a stroke or heart failure. I immediately checked into ER and got it treated. Thankfully, no issues were reported on the tests they ran, cat scan, ekg, blood and urine test. I am working now with a cardiologist to figure out the root cause. I’m otherwise healthy, actively play racquetball twice a week, not overweight and no stress in my life. So what caused this? I think it’s the nicotine.

My system somehow can’t handle it. I’ve been testing this out for a few days now. In the morning after my breakfast, I checked my bp, it was 132/83. I was feeling great. I then smoked half a cigar, checked 10 minutes later and it was 175/93. Slight headache and short breaths had returned, that’s something I have gotten used to with smoking cigars. One hour later, it’s better at 148/82. If cigars truly are the root cause then I have no choice but to quit or only smoke occasionally.

Anyone else have similar experience with cigars? Would love to hear from you. 

Comments

• 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nope.
    Quite the opposite for me.

So you are saying that you, all the sudden, have higher blood pressure and you think it's the cigars. Well, then you should quit smoking cigars.

If you are gonna panic every time you smoke cigars, then you aren't enjoying the time, so you should quit.
    In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.

Wylaff said:
    Atmospheric pressure and crap.
  • 90+_Irishman90+_Irishman Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭✭