Home General Discussion

Need some recommendations

Another new guy here looking for some help. I talked to Jeff J. earlier today and he suggested I ask around here for advice. He said most of you knew what you were talking about. LOL

I'm completely new to cigars, so I don't have a reference point or a preference, yet. Jeff gave me a couple of starting points on the mild side (5 Vegas Gold, CAO Gold, Gurhka Park Ave, etc). However, I'm also interested in trying a little bit of everything and shuffling through the brands and samplers is a little overwhelming.

Basically, I'm looking for what you guys enjoy or feel everyone should try at least once. I am going to start with a ccom sampler for sure, but would like to grab a few more sticks to broaden my horizon. I'm not looking for anything premium or too expensive, just a solid smoke.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• NYHCx516xNYHCx516x Posts: 728
    I was in your shoes a year ago. Splurge, join the Cigar of the month club. 30$ a month, 5 great sticks. Some you see everywhere... some you wouldnt even think of picking up. Its a good way to try things you might not otherwise try. THEN... when you find one you like, being a member of that club, you get 10% off almost everything at ccom. its VERY worth it.
  • j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    I made this same suggestion a couple days ago. A good line of cigars to look into would be Perdomo. On the mild-medium side a good one is the Perdomo Reserve 10th Champagne series and Lot 23. Heading into the more medium strength area you have the Perdomo ESV '91 which is pretty good, the Perdomo Reserve 10th Criollo, Perdomo Habano, And Perdomo Reserve Golf. Going medium-full you have the Perdomo Patriarch, Perdomo Grand Cru and Perdomo Oscuro.

All of the above mentioned cigars are decently priced and a good way to get a feel for what kind of cigars you like. From there, you will have a good idea of what kind of cigars to branch out into.