Home Ratings & Reviews

La Aurora - Barrel Aged

Rob1110Rob1110 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭
I picked up two of these about a month ago, planning on having one soon and letting the other age for a while. I've been a fan of La Aurora since I first tried their Emerald Tubo Preferido on the recommendation of a local shop. I'm new to the whole review process, so I'll do my best.

Here's the Ad for this stick: The Aurora Barrel Aged cigar is a creamy, full-bodied smoke with hints of caramel. Aurora takes Corojo wrapper leaf and ages it in old rum barrels. This process darkens the wrapper to an Oscuro and adds a ton of flavor.

Pre-light: Nice clean, fresh tobacco smell with subtle sweet undertones. Very nice smelling cigar with a pleasant pre-light draw.

Construction: I'd have to go with the word "perfect" to best describe the construction here. Minimal veins, no soft spots, wrapper and cap in beautiful condition - flawless seams. Even throughout the smoking experience, there were absolutely no wrapper problems, the burn was even all the way down and the cap never even showed any signs of beginning to unravel (I used a punch, so the wrapper was mostly intact, not cut). The draw was never too loose, never too tight and always produced LOTS of smoke. Ash held tight and even throughout.