Home General Discussion

Any interest in software?

rusiriusrusirius Posts: 565 ✭✭
Dunno if I ever mentioned this, but by trade I'm an IT manager... I also happen to be a software developer. Tonight I started developing a program for myself, but will no doubt release it for cigar lovers later once it's finished / debugged...

I'm wondering if anyone here would have any interest in it. As I said, I'm writing it for myself, but after it's done I'll release it and sell it for a modest price... For the folks on here that are interested, I'm sure we could work out a deal maybe trading for some sticks or something like that if you don't wanna lay out the cash...

At this point I'd like to just kinda gauge interest just to see how far I should really take it and just how spiffy I should make it...

Just as a brief rundown of some of the features:
It will keep track of your humidors... When they were seasoned, how much they were purchased for, etc...

It will also of course keep track of your inventory of sticks... Which humi they are in, when they were bought, all the info on the stick itself, the msrp, your purchase price, etc...

Likewise it will also keep a journal of all your smokes... Keeping track of your details on the smoke, i.e. construction, flavor, burn, impression, misc notes, etc... Each of the categories will also have a rating you can assign which will generate an overall rating of that smoke...
It will also generate and print out a hard copy version of the journal (by page as each page is completed) which will also contain a spot to tape the band to, etc...

It'll keep track of trades as well... Who you traded with, what was traded, etc...