Home Cigar 101

Is this mold or plume?

It looks like dust to me which I would think plume but you never know. My humidty was crazy for a little while. Here is a link to the picture. Can you post pix here? I am very new to this board so forgive all the questions please. http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/25/l_cf7ac80932ed4d34a91e1585475c91a9.jpg

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    That looks like plume to me. Did you try brushing it off? If it brushed away readily and left no residue then it is plume. Also, I think mold would tend to be a bit greenish.

I'm no expert, so take what I'm about to say with a grain of salt. I've read that plume can be formed by shocking the oils in the cigar, which is something that temperature and humidity fluctuations could very well do. For example, I had ordered a box of Fuente Don Carlos #3 and when I received it several of the cigars were speckled with plume, after letting them stabilize it my coolerdor, however, the oils were re-absorbed into the cigar and there was no sign of the speckling after that.

There are quite a few guys on the forum that know a good deal more about this than I do, and perhaps they can offer up more insight.

Joe
  • Thanks for the info. It feels like a light coat of dust. I am thinking it is plume mysef. They are "vintage" cigars and might be getting to prime time! You could very well be right about the shock factor though. Thanks again.
  • bass8844bass8844 Posts: 416
    Try putting the cigars in the light. Sometimes plume can look like crystals if held in certain angles. BTW, where in Korea are you?