Home Cigar 101

Cigar veins?

Ok. I am still very new to cigars and one thing I keep hearing about is the amount of veins in a cigar. But it seems that everyone has a different opinion about them. So I guess my question is what is the real story behind the veins, do they even mean anything at all? I would really appreciate some clarity on this subject.

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    the veins are where the nutrients get distributed to the leaf. so.... in theory, the more veins you have the more flavor.
    ....? ill have to look into that.
  • I have heard that before. I have also heard that the more veins the worse the flavor, the more veins the lower quality of cigar, veins have nothing to do with the flavor, and so on and so on. So I guess what I am looking for is a general consensus. Which I doubt will happen, but it will be cool to see what other theories are out. I appreciate anyone that adds in on this subject. Thanks for being the first Kuzi.
  • Big DeanBig Dean Posts: 120
    I always thought that veins are no problem, unless they are really big and bulging out. I also thought you want a lot of small veins for flavor. But I'm not really sure.
  • ScramblerScrambler Posts: 746 ✭✭
    A lot of people seem to think that fewer veins means the tobacco is higher quality, probably because it means the roller is more selective with what leaves they use. Big veins can cause some burning issues, but I wouldn't worry about it.

By the way, this thread is ripe for someone to come along and take in a whole other direction.
  • LasabarLasabar Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭
    Scrambler:
    A lot of people seem to think that fewer veins means the tobacco is higher quality, probably because it means the roller is more selective with what leaves they use. Big veins can cause some burning issues, but I wouldn't worry about it.

By the way, this thread is ripe for someone to come along and take in a whole other direction.