Home Cigar 101

1st Humidor

DemferDemfer Posts: 3
Greetings everyone!

My name is Mike and I am fairly green in the world of stogies. Im a college student in Boston and love to unwind with a nice single malt scotch and a 'gar. Ive always just went out and picked up one or two at a time from the cigar shop down the street but i recently took the plunge and got a southport humidor from this site along with some Cusano c10s, corojo ltd diploma's, and some gurkha black dragons. Im really new to using humidors so what do I need to do to it to make it ready to store my slowly growing collection? My friend told me I needed to "season" it with distilled water in order to prime the wood for humidification and storage? is this correct?

Any further info will be appreciated...

Right now I am storing all 14 of my cigars in a large ziplock bag with 2 of those humidification pillows that came with my order. How long are these "pillows" good for?

Thanks,

Mike

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    good for you!

the pillows will last a few weeks but you wont need them for that long if you get your humidor seasoned.

to season a humidor you need to place a bowl of distilled water in the humidor along with your humidification device and hygromiter. once the humididty holds at about 70% rh you are good to put your cigars in. take out the bowl but keep the hygromiter and the humidification device. this should take only about 2 days. ...3 at longest.

my last humidor took only 24 hours. ... but i had a very big and shallow bowl in there and a pound of heartfelt humidity beads. the humidor was a 120 ct. it worked out well.
  • DemferDemfer Posts: 3
    Cool that seems easy enough.

I was told by others that I need to rub the insides of the humidor with water as well?
    Is it the same thing as leaving a bowl of distilled water in the humidor until I have an rh of 70%?