Home Cigar 101

Humidor and proper storage / Seasoning

Hello, I am new to this and have read about beads but I don't see them on this site where do you purchase them and what exactly are they? When storing the cigar in the humidor do you remove the plastic wrapper from the cigar? What is the salt test and how do you perform it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    buy beads at http://www.heartfeltindustries.com/

beads are a silica product designed to soak up humidity when it gets to high and put out humidity when it gets too low. Its a modified version of the "do not eat" packets at the bottom of beef jerky

i dont remove the cellophane when i put them in my humidor but it wont hut the cigars if you do.

the salt test is a test to calibrate your hygrometer.

here is the salt test:
    get a bottle cap (i use the top to a gatorade bottle so i know i have enough salt and water)
    get some salt.
    get some distilled water
    get a plastic zip-loc style bag.
    put salt in the bottle cap.
    start adding distilled water to the salt and stir untill it makes a salt/water paste.
    place that little set up inside the zip-loc bag. dont spill it.
    place hygrometer in plastic bag next to the bottle cap
    let it sit for about 36 hours or so.
    your hygrometer should be at exactly 75.5% RH. if it isn't then you need to calibrate it so it does. If its an analog dial style there will be a screw in the back. turn it untill it says 75%... if you have a digital that can be adjusted do so (read those directions) if it cant be adjusted then make note of how far it is off. My hygrometer is low by 4 so i put a sticker on it that says "-4"
  • kuzi16:

Thank you very much for your replies it is greatly appreciated, now when my humi arrives I'll know what I should be doing to get started.

• wrobowrobo Posts: 9