Home Non Cigar Related

501c3???

Has anyone ever set one up? I am trying to get the DC3 set up as one and just looking for tips to help. I finally set up deadcamelcigarclub@gmail.com to get paypal donations of its own and want people to be able to get a tax break, although most donations are negligible, for what they send ad what they donate. Is it even worth it?

Comments

• DirewolfDirewolf Posts: 3,493
    I don't know about the 501C3 but watch out with paypal and charitable donations. I have seen a few instances of them locking the funds on people
  • jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I've set one up but it's been a good number of years ago. Don't know how much help I could provide but I'll try. I have no knowledge of donations/PayPal, though.
  • DSWarmackDSWarmack Posts: 1,426
    As of now its just set up like a regular paypal account through the DCCC and I have opened a second account to keep the funds separate. Is it worth even setting it up as a 501c3 jlMarta? I don't know the ins and outs. I figured if I did it I might be able to get more donations seeing as how people wouldn't just think its some wonky club, you know, kinda give it more validity.
    Direwolf:
    I don't know about the 501C3 but watch out with paypal and charitable donations. I have seen a few instances of them locking the funds on people
    I've heard this also. Luckily the DCCC has a very good financial lawyer on retainer. They will use the same one I do!
    DSWarmack:
    As of now its just set up like a regular paypal account through the DCCC and I have opened a second account to keep the funds separate. Is it worth even setting it up as a 501c3 jlMarta? I don't know the ins and outs. I figured if I did it I might be able to get more donations seeing as how people wouldn't just think its some wonky club, you know, kinda give it more validity.