Home General Discussion

Building my own humidor.

I bought my first humidor about a year ago when i started smoking higher quality cigars. Because im a poor college student I bought one for about 30 bucks online, to say the least i was not happy. I am planning on building a higher quality, nicer looking humidor. I have found a couple of online tutorials that i think would be useful. As a nice cigar community you are i was wondering if there are any problems you know of that people have had building their own anything i should look out for?

I am planning on using Oak for the outside and adding about 1/4 inch Spanish cedar outline for the inside. Planning on having the cedar lip above the Oak outline to have a better seal.

Any tips would be very appreciated!

Comments

• PuroFreakPuroFreak Posts: 4,131 ✭✭
    There are a few threads on the site about some guys talking about doing this. I would love to do it, just don't have the time or the place to do it at the moment. I'm sure you will get some good feedback on here.
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    1/4 inch.... you can save money by moving down to 1/8th inch. it wont hurt it any. the lip for the seal should be thicker.

HERE is a link that may get you off to a good start. If you have other questions after this, ill see if i can help. I dont know how much i can be being that i have never built one myself, but ill give it a go.
  • Not knowing what your woodworking skills are and, due to the fact that you're a "poor college student," I think I would recommend you go the coolerdor route for awhile. I used coolers for years with very excellent results until I had a humidor custom built for me last year. It has a capacity of approximately 50 boxes and it is excellent. I have decent woodworking abilities and even have a substantial amount of Spanish Cedar on hand, but am a little concerned about getting the seal just right. Anyway, whatever you decide to do - good luck!
  • hoffpahoffpa Posts: 14