Home General Discussion

Best Cigars To Age-Cigar.com February 2012

Alex, upon receiving your current catalog, I was intrigued by your article on aging cigars. I’ve been smoking cigars since the 1980’s, and have experimented extensively on the long term effects of aging cigars, ranging from post embargo cigars from the Canary Islands, Jamaica and Mexico to the current brands of today. Before I had even read your article, I had incorrectly assumed that your selection would be based on mostly stronger Nicaraguan cigars. But my findings are very similar to yours. The only surprise I found in your 3 choices was the Camacho Diploma. On a side note, I used to smoke Camachos years ago, when they were an inexpensive line (one line only) with a mild to medium strength and a sweet cap, and nothing like the current Camacho. Out of curiosity, I purchased some Diplomas when they were first released. But unlike your article, I found them to be literally flavorless after long term aging. I found that dominantly Honduran cigars were very hit or miss, and although many smokers think of cigars like Punch or Hoyo to be Honduran cigars, they really contain a blend of leaf from several countries. What I have found (and what is the biggest surprise to most smokers), is that Nicaraguan puros (or those cigars comprised mostly of Nicaraguan leaf) are far and away the WORST cigars for long term aging. (By long term, I refer to over 10 years aging under proper conditions). Take a Padron Aniversario for example. When the Padrons release an Aniversario is it absolutely at it’s peak, ready for immediate consumption. A 10 year old Aniversario retains little if any body or flavor, and none of the classic sweetness. Long term aging ruins this once great cigar. But perhaps the biggest misconception is in regards to Dominican tobacco. Most smokers believe what has been repeated in many cigar books: that Dominican leaf is unworthy of aging. I have found that milder cigars utilizing a majority of Domi