Home Non Cigar Related

IVF

Hey guys. My wife and I have been trying to have kids for a while now. We began to see a Doctor after trying for about a year. Long story short we are going to have to do In Vitro fertilization. The whole process is crazy expensive and the success rates are about 50/50. Ive been on meds for a while and after not seeing much improvent IVF is the only route. We were filling out the application for getting finacnce for the whole procedure. Have anyone of you guys had any experience or know anyone who has done it. the whole process is going to be about $25,000. Stressing out is an under statement. Any info is appreciated. Feels a little better to vent too.

Comments

• jr_p951jr_p951 Posts: 1,121
    I have no experience with this but I do have a question. For that amount of money, are able to pick Male or Female? Blue eyes or brown eyes? Etc... During college, we had moral and ethical debates on the ability to pick and choose your child and his/her characteristics. I've never had the chance to ask someone who was actually going thru or had the process completed. I'm sure it is stressful. I'd ask if there was any kind of insurance or options available. Paying that kind of money and then the Doc saying..."sorry, it just didn't take." and I'm out $25K would send me high and to the right!! Maybe a second opinion from another Doc would help ease the stress. A decision of this magnitude should be made with confidence.
  • Roberto99Roberto99 Posts: 1,077
    Hi Chris. The University of Minnesota has a program that will give you 3 IVF's for something like 10-15k. At least that was the going rate about 5 years ago. I checked your age and it looks like you would qualify. PM coming your way.
  • cmartincmartin Posts: 130