Home Cigar 101

Need Help with Humidification Beads

arch72arch72 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭✭
I hope this is the right place to ask this but I am new to all this. I have just got my first humidor and have decide to use the beads. I just got my beads in the mail and they are precharged and totally wet and some of them are crushed and turn to powder when touched. Is this normal and should I sift out the dust before putting them into the humidor?

Comments

• New_BootsNew_Boots Posts: 2,651 ✭✭
    Let us get some more info please.

Have you seasoned the humidor?
    How large is it?
    Are there any cigars in it, right now?
    What brand of beads did you get?

Welcome to the forum! Stick around....we'll get you squared away on this, and I'm 100% sure you'll enjoy your time here.
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you have a container for the beads? It sounds like you just bought a bag of loose beads? Or did they come in a disk. If they are loose beads you will need to place them in a dish, container, pantyhose sock, or something else to hold them. The dust won't hurt, but it will be annoying. I'd try not to spill it everywhere in the humidor... But yes, that happens with beads and it's pretty normal.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • arch72arch72 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭✭
    No am still waiting for it to be delivered by UPS hopefully it will be here tomorrow if not then Monday. It says it holds 600 cigars Its says Cheaphumidors Humidity Beads on the bag 1/2 lb bag I got 2 of them so I have a total of 1lb
    arch72:
    No am still waiting for it to be delivered by UPS hopefully it will be here tomorrow if not then Monday. It says it holds 600 cigars Its says Cheaphumidors Humidity Beads on the bag 1/2 lb bag I got 2 of them so I have a total of 1lb
    Wow, that's a pretty big humidor. Nice! And how were you planning on placing the beads in there?