Home Cigar 101

Weird question: What brand of cigar did pirates smoke?

I'm a huge fan of the pirate era. Especially the "Golden Age of Piracy" so I really want to know the answer so I can find one! I'm also new to the cigar world!

Comments

• New_BootsNew_Boots Posts: 2,651 ✭✭
    Well, welcome to the boards!

I'm not real keen on pirate smokes, but stick around this place...I think you'll find it to your liking.
  • Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Well, they had access to all the islands in the Caribbean, but I would guess they mostly smoked whatever the former Captain of their current vessel smoked. Likely more pipes than cigars, I'd think, but cigars have been around a long time. Interesting question.
    WARNING:  The above post may contain thoughts or ideas known to the State of Caliphornia to cause seething rage, confusion, distemper, nausea, perspiration, sphincter release, or cranial implosion to persons who implicitly trust only one news source, or find themselves at either the left or right political extreme.  Proceed at your own risk.  

"If you do not read the newspapers you're uninformed.  If you do read the newspapers, you're misinformed." --  Mark Twain
  • edelrionycedelrionyc Posts: 361 ✭✭✭
    I'm sure we won't be able to find the exact cigar blend or line that pirates smokes. We can most likely figure out what islands they might have visited and smoke tobacco from that island. I don't think a cigar blend or line of tobacco is the exact same as those days.
    OR! We could all pool our money, buy a boat...and BECOME pirates!
  • webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
    usmc03grunt:
    I'm a huge fan of the pirate era. Especially the "Golden Age of Piracy" so I really want to know the answer so I can find one! I'm also new to the cigar world!