Home Cigar 101

New humidor

I am presently deployed in Afghanistan. My loving wife has bought me an Old World humidor, 100 count as a welcome home gift. I am new to all this and have no idea what to tell her to help out setting it up, seasoning, charging. She was also nice and picked out 100 CAO gold maduros. Not sure if those are any good or not. Not sure how long to wait to put the cigars in the humidor. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Smoke=FireSmoke=Fire Posts: 692 ✭✭✭
    First off...thanks for being there, bud ;)

Secondly, you are one lucky man to have a wife like that! :D

Third, tell her for now to immediately get a sealed tupperware container, a four ounce tube of Heartfelt beads at 65% RH, and place the cigars and the beads in there so that they are in good condition for when you rotate back home. A small spray bottle with distilled water will do the trick for charging the beads. The cigars need to be stored in the coolest part of the home since it is summer (and assuming you two do not have A/C); 70 degrees is considered optimum, but don't sweat it if she keeps the house at 72 if you have A/C. ;)

The humidor can be seasoned at her leisure; she simply needs to put a small bowl filled with distilled water only inside the humi and leave it there for a couple of weeks. The wood will absorb the water to the needed amount. Boveda also makes a nice product for seasoning humidors, but if she is patient, than the bowl of water will do the trick as long as she remembers to recharge the bowl every so often.

Did I mention you are one lucky man? o.O
  • Thank you for the help. I have passed it along to her. I have seen different things when it comes to charging the humidor. Some say to rub down the inside and others say let the wood soak it up naturally. Just dont want to screw this thing up...lol. we do have central air and live in South Bend, Indiana area( northern).
    You are very welcome. :)