Home General Discussion
Options

If your humidor is at the right humidification.....(another question)

......after 5 days, can you go ahead and put your cigars in there? My analog hygrometer showed 62 as opposed to the 75 it should have shown after calibrating it. So I have to add the difference of 13 in my humidor. It is currently showing 58 in my humidor which is really 71. Can I or should I go ahead and put my sticks in there? Or just wait for the whole 7 days?

Comments

• Options
    oldsoulrevivaloldsoulrevival Posts: 632 ✭✭
    I am no expert, but before you go adding your cigars, I think you should be reading the humidity with a digital hygrometer.
    You spend hundreds of dollars on cigars - I wouldn't trust a cheap hygrometer to do the trick.
    my $0.02
  • Options
    SalemSalem Posts: 717
    oldsoulrevival:
    I am no expert, but before you go adding your cigars, I think you should be reading the humidity with a digital hygrometer.
    You spend hundreds of dollars on cigars - I wouldn't trust a cheap hygrometer to do the trick.
    my $0.02
    I think you're right, will pick one up today I hope. But if it's right, do I add the cigars or wait the whole 7 days?
  • Options
    KriegKrieg Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭
    If your humi is at the correct RH that you want to keep your cigars at, then add them. I've had humidors become seasoned just after 24-36hrs. And I've had some that have taken days...(like my new cabinet).

"Long ashes my friends."

• Options
    Ken_LightKen_Light Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭
    Has it been stable or did it just get there? I'd let it stay solid for a day if I were you. You don't want it spiking or crashing when you add the sticks (which it will to some extent because adding them will have an impact).
    ^Troll: DO NOT FEED.
  • Options
    Ken Light: