Home Non Cigar Related

Let's Talk Barbeque

I just got finished smoking a brisket and it turned out FANTASTIC! I cooked it "low and slow" for about 14 hours. I've been smoking meat for about 3 years and still consider myself a rookie. I've tried many different recipes and different types of wood and charcoal. I'm lovin it. I know that, in Texas, we have our way to cook brisket. How do yall do it in different parts of the country? What type of wood? How long do you smoke it at what temp? Let's hear it, BBQ Chefs! I'll post my recipe later in the thread if it takes.

Comments

• JDHJDH Posts: 2,107
    I don't cook it, I just eat it. IMO, there's only three places to get good BBQ - Lufkin, Texas (Lufkin BBQ), Memphis Tennessee (Rondevous BBQ, downtown), and my good buddy Leon's house (in his back yard).
  • webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Me the same. I just look for a BBQ place where the firewood is stacked in the yard as high as the eaves. If the cook is fat, I know I'm in the right place.

I love dead pig.

“It has been a source of great pain to me to have met with so many among [my] opponents who had not the liberality to distinguish between political and social opposition; who transferred at once to the person, the hatred they bore to his political opinions.” —Thomas Jefferson (1808)

• amz1301amz1301 Posts: 1,299
    Whenever I'm traveling south through NC I have to make a pit stop in Goldsboro. Smoked Eastern Carolina Whole Hog.

• The SniperThe Sniper Posts: 3,910
    JDH:
    I don't cook it, I just eat it. IMO, there's only three places to get good BBQ - Lufkin, Texas (Lufkin BBQ), Memphis Tennessee (Rondevous BBQ, downtown), and my good buddy Leon's house (in his back yard).