Home Cigar 101

Staying Lit

So I have been sampling cigars for a few years and finally bought a small humidor of my own to allow aging and a ready supply. Problem is most of the cigs dont stay lit when I have tried them. They start fine but after about a 1/4 to a 1/3 the wrapper stops burning. the filler will stay lit and burn up the cigar for a while until it cant get air, but then I either have to relight, which creates a very harsh smoke, or give up. My humidor is a small desk top with 50/50 solution. I usually try to keep it dry around 65% RH, but it is hot here, northern california, so keeping them at 70 degrees is tough and they often hit 80. Is this a humidor problem or something in the way I'm smoking them? any suggestions?

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    you may be smoking a bit too slow. aim for about a puff a minute.
  • 4bob44bob4 Posts: 212
    Is it happening with all (or at lest most) of your cigars? Have you been smoking the same stick over and over or changing it up? I assume that since you said you've been sampling that you've been changing it up. If it is all one cigar type it may be construction issues.
  • TheedgeTheedge Posts: 316
    Are you leaving the cigar in your mouth so that the end is getting overly wet?  If I smoke while doing something and leave the cigar in my mouth, it gets all goobed up and is no good.
  • Yeah changing it up. I bought a couple of sample packs with several different cigars. Almost all of them have gone out at least halfway through.
  • No Dont leave it in my mouth, but almost all of the cigars make me salivate a lot and i end up having to spit. not sure if this could be part of the problem.
  • GoldyGoldy Posts: 1,638 ✭✭
    I often have the same problem but I think it is from puffing too slowly. Its freaking anoying.
  • bbc020bbc020 Posts: 1,422
    havefun79: