Home Cigar 101
Options

Cellophane Wrappers?

Sleddog46Sleddog46 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭✭✭
Hi, I'm a newbie so please go easy on me. When I store my cigars should I remove the cellophane wrappers. I have a Boveda 69% packet. Thanks in advance.
You can't dispel Ignorance if you retain Arrogance!

Comments

• Options
    TNBigfoot68TNBigfoot68 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Really it is your prefepreference, leaving it on doesn't hurt anything.
    I was born a fool, and just got bigger!
  • Options
    deadmandeadman Posts: 8,804 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Your choice. It's personal preference. The cello saves the wrapper from being damaged so I leave mine on.
  • Options
    YaksterYakster Posts: 25,768 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Cello acts as a slight humidity buffer too, I just leave them on.
    Join us on Zoom vHerf (Meeting # 2619860114 Password vHerf2020 )
  • Options
    TX98Z28TX98Z28 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭✭✭
    For storing leave it on. If you pick around in your sticks a lot leave it on. Best to leave it on unless aging but thats a very subjective completely different discussion with lots of variables.

Theres very few cigars that I took it off of and it wasn't to age them on those, more to do with rushed production, or cigars that were put in freshly lacquered boxes that hadn't finished out gassing resulting in the cellophane to smell horrible like solvent, the cellophane was the only thing that saved those certain cigars from being ruined.

As others have said it truly is personal preference.    
    If you quote me do the @TX98Z28 in your text or I won't be notified of your quote, Thanks.
  • Options
    0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2017
    Who cares?
    Do what you want.

If I get cigars with cello, I leave it on.
    If they come without, such as ISOM or Padron, it goes in without cello.
    Mostly cause I'm too lazy to give it much thought.