Home General Discussion

5 Vegas Series A Question

Ok I am new at cigars and my wife gave me a couple of 5 Vegas Series A cigars.

I noticed that there is a wood sleeve on them. What is the purpose of it? I am guessing that this is taken off before you light and smoke, but I thought I would ask.

*I can see it now you fell off your chair from laughing at my stupid question.

Comments

• lilwing88lilwing88 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭
    The cedar wrapper is just for show..... take it off before lighting. You can store it with it on, though.

I just had one the other day. Very nice smoke.
    Guns don't kill people, Daddies with pretty daughters do…..
  • ejenne87ejenne87 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭
    deffinately take it off, it would not burn with it on. Your wife has pretty great taste in cigars, those things are awesome!

And this isn't a stupid question, the guys here wont laugh you off the forums for any question like this. We were all new once.
  • TatuajeVITatuajeVI Posts: 2,378
    Yeah, it might burn a little too fast with the cedar still there. :) We were all new once.

Make sure you have them stored properly. Check out the "cigar 101" section for storage, humidity, and smoking questions. Welcome!
  • kingjk729kingjk729 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭
    Its for when you begin your interrogation of your prisoner ...... when they dont cooperate you break off a piece and shove it under their finger nail ..... then if that doesnt work you place the said finger and a bowl of water ..... dont worry my friend you'll be enjoying this cigar so much that the screams of the prisoner wont even bother you ...... nothing but pure bliss will overwhelm you while smoking this cigar ...... and if that was too brutal ...... its really just there to make it look purdy
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    the cedar sleeve actually imparts a bit of flavor to the cigar. there is a woody bite to it and a small amount of spice on that cigar. much of this is due to the cedar.