Home Cigar 101
Options

Draw question

Hey all, so...I've been smoking for a few months now, and am working at getting accustomed to as many different flavor palates as possible, as well as cigar construction, shapes, sizes, etc.  Naturally, I've smoked some cigars that have drawn lightly (too lightly, in some cases), some right down the middle (most fall into this category), and some that feel like I'm trying to suck a strawberry through a straw - leaving my throat muscles sore halfway through the smoke.  Last night I smoked a Cohiba Black corona - loved the flavor and the burn, but experienced some of the latter issue.  I tried rolling it lightly in my fingers to try to loosen up the filler, but to very little avail.  Question - how do you reduce this problem?  Do I need tools of some kind?  Are some smokes just predictably harder draws than others?  Or - and this may sound odd - will my throat muscles grow stronger to handle this kind of thing as I continue to practice my hobby?

Comments

• Options
    dutyjedutyje Posts: 2,263
    Sometimes a tight draw can't be helped. Sometimes it's an indication of a cigar that has been over-humidified. As you ready your humi, are you keeping your cigars in a sealed container with a damp sponge? That will tend to over-humidify your sticks, particularly if you leave them that way for a long time without opening the container.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    i always do a draw test when i cut the cigar. this way ill know before the light if the draw is too tight. if it is i throw it back in the humi for a year or so and do another draw test. If its still to tight i break out the tools...
    and by "tools" i mean "a paperclip thats been un bent" i poke this in to see if i can unplug it. somethines it works, sometimes i dont.
  • Options
    dan7876dan7876 Posts: 47