Home Cigar 101
Options

How much to cut off a torpedo?

Hello y'all!
This is my first post on here. I've been smoking the occasional cigar for a couple of months now. I have a torp. from my original sampler order sitting in my humidor. So I don't hack too much off, I figured it was a good idea to ask how much should I cut? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    cut off 1/8 of an inch off then end
    draw
    if its tight, repeat until the draw is good.

this will probably leave a cut in the end of the cigar about this across:

|--------|

...if you started with a ring of 50 or 52
  • Options
    fla-gypsyfla-gypsy Posts: 3,023 ✭✭
    kuzi16:
    draw

|--------|

This is my method also. Start short and keep cutting until I get the draw I like
  • Options
    slt5103slt5103 Posts: 3
    Thanks guys! The info is much appreciated.
  • Options
    firetruckguyfiretruckguy Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭
    Oh... and welcome to the forum!
  • Options
    fla-gypsy:
    kuzi16:
    draw

|--------|

This is my method also. Start short and keep cutting until I get the draw I like
    I was going to sya something like that, kuzi beat me too it, all is well, tho because I probably learned it from him when I first asked a year ago. If its about cigars and you cant learn it on ccom, you dont need to know it:)
  • Options
    ChobaChoba Posts: 76
    Hey, got a related question as well BTOLs, my cutter is getting dull I think, it's "crunching" instead of the usual "snip" I just ordered a Xikar, heard they're good and comes with a life warranty. What are your thoughts and I hope it's good otherwise I'll have to keep shopping and try other ones. BTW had an Ambos Mundos tonight, and have to say, the slow creamy vanilla with nutty textures are decadent. Didn't think I would like a med-full body again. Thanks all.
  • Options
    Duder2Duder2 Posts: 926