Home General Discussion
Options

What Makes a Premium Cigar to You?

So I'm still fairly new to the cigar game and was just kind of wondering what makes a cigar a "premium cigar?" Is it the price, the quality, the name alone?

Most of the cigars I have been smoking retail in the $6-8 range (thanks to cigar.com's samplers and daily deals I've rarely paid anywhere close to that), but some have been more and some have been less. I feel that a Romeo Y Julieta 1875 Bully is a pretty decent smoke for a decent price, but I wouldn't really consider it a "premium cigar." However, my dad who has been smoking for years and typically smokes much cheaper cigars considers it to be a "top shelf stick" (his words). Have I just been spoiled? Does the definition of "premium" vary between everyone or is there some guide to it that I am unaware of?

Comments

• Options
    xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Yup, you've definitely been spoiled. Go smoke a gas station cigar and then try smoking that 1875 again - notice the difference in harshness? You may not like the 1875, but you can still smoke the entire thing; cheaper smokes can gag you and become unsmokeable due to their harsh taste or poor construction.

Premium smokes are premium because they aren't harsh, they're properly aged, they blended with far more care, and they're better constructed. They're rolled to be enjoyed, not to give a nic fix; it's assumed the herfer will sit back and enjoy it, not smoke it as fast as they can or smoke it while doing yard work/something that will detract from the experience
  • Options
    Damn, spell check obviously doesn't work in the subject line.
  • Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭