Home General Discussion
Options

Newbie here

Hi all,

I just joined here today, and thought I would post a bit about myself.

First, I am in the US Navy, and have very little experience with cigars.  I have enjoyed a few in the past, usually when folks have offered up one at a get together.  I don't recall exactly what I have smoked, but for the most part I have enjoyed what I have had.

Today I stopped at a local Tobacconist here in San Diego, and picked up a small 10 cigar humidor and 6 cigars.  I'm not sure if what I bought is any good... (like I said, I'm new).  I purchased the following today... tell me if I did ok or not :P

Rocky Patel Vintage 1990
Saint Luis Rey Reserva Especial
Isla del Sol
Edge Toro Maduro
Eureka Lazarus  (smoked this today it was a bit bitter)
JM's Dominican

My goal is to learn more and get a more solid idea on what are the better cigars and discover my favorites along the way.

One of my hobbies is woodworking, so when I get to my next duty station in Virginia in the next month and a half, I will most likely start on building my own humidor.

If you have any advice for the budding cigar aficionado I would appreciate it.  I'm sure I will enjoy the community here.

Comments

• Options
    ENFIDLENFIDL Posts: 5,836
    Welcome! Thanks for your service! Great forum and great bunch of Brothers Of The Leaf (BOTL). Just search around and you'll find some good info! Where in VA are you getting stationed?
  • Options
    interpiminterpim Posts: 146
    going to Dahlgren, VA... up in the northern neck just south of the Maryland border.  I'll be spending a bit of time with my family in North Carolina before I head up that way though.
  • Options
    fla-gypsyfla-gypsy Posts: 3,023 ✭✭
    Welcome to the group, I see 3 sticks on your list that i like. It is all personal preference when it comes to sticks.
  • Options
    so which one would you recommend i smoke tonight?
  • Options
    wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭