Home Cigar 101
Options

Help W/Humidor

Hello all, I am getting more into cigars and got a gift set from ThompsonCigar as a gift. Came with sticks and a humidor. I cannot get the humidor to maintain a constant setting.  I have tried wiping it down, shot glass, etc. It came with an analog hygrometer and the floral styrofoam. I am new to the gel beads and everything too. Do you just put a couple beads into the round screen thing by swapping out the styrofoam?  I have had the humidor seasoning for a couple of days now, close to a week. please help. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Get a digital hygrometer if you can, the analog is probably where things are going wrong.
  • Options
    jship079jship079 Posts: 621
    more ofton then not the free humi's with a gift set are not that great. Some times it takes a while to get your humi to matain a constant humidity and temp here is a way to check if it is a poor seal causing your problems. Visually inspect the humidor checking all the seal lines and joints. A great way to do this is to place a lit flashlight into your humidor, close the lid, and inspect in a dark room. If there are any poorly fitted joints or seals, the light will show through. as far as the beads go yes you can put them in the humidifier granted that the slits are not to big for the beads as far as the amount always get more than recomended on the converter they will have at the place were you by the beads from
  • Options
    robbyrasrobbyras Posts: 5,487
    agreed on the Digiatl Hygro and beads... can't go wrong...
  • Options
    jorswiftjorswift Posts: 11
    I tried the dollar trick and it came out pretty easily. I noticed after I wiped it down with the distilled water the wood must have swelled because it was hard to open. Can I salvage this humidor and get it to work?
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭