Home General Discussion
Options

Best Humidification System?

After enjoying cigars casually for several years I'm just getting into the hobby more seriously.  I've seen lots of opinions about humidification systems from people who seem to be biased.  Is there any general consensus for a good, cheap, stable option to keep a medium-sized humidor at the proper humidity? 

Comments

• Options
    LasabarLasabar Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭
    explosivebeer:
    After enjoying cigars casually for several years I'm just getting into the hobby more seriously.  I've seen lots of opinions about humidification systems from people who seem to be biased.  Is there any general consensus for a good, cheap, stable option to keep a medium-sized humidor at the proper humidity? 
    Beads... Hands down... I use Heartfelt... There are the same beads for Cheaper (I believe that Laker has a link) but for a medium sized humi... Beads...
  • Options
    sirfoster83sirfoster83 Posts: 783
    I just got conservagel beads. Love them
  • Options
    xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    +1 on beads - just spray them with distilled water and you're good to go; no fuss, no measuring 50/50 propylene glycol into that crappy puck, etc - just distilled water.You can buy either Heartfelt beads or Conservagel beads - just google and you'll find what you need.

The Heartfelt website has a calculator for figuring out how much beads you need; the general advice is to take whatever number they give you, and double it, since the calculator only gives you the bare minimum.