Home Cigar 101

Some advice is needed...

So I just started getting into cigars even though I never really smoked anything. I've had a few dominicans and really dig different flavors associated with them. What's really getting me into cigars has been my recent wedding. My best man from Spain bought me a box of habanos - Rafael gonzales panetelas extra.

I have no real experience with storing cigars and it's showing. I smoked one soon after I got them (great cigar!) but after a month they appear to be dried out. :( They appear harder than before and when I smoked one the wrapping started to crack making it a more difficult smoke.

So some questions:

1) how do I reverse the drying without a humidor and keep them humid? What equipment do I need (hygrometer)?

2) I obviously need to shop for humidor. Any recommendations for someone starting out? Something small but can hold humidity perfectly?

3) are my habanos salvageable?

Any and all advice are greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

J

Comments

• laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    phattysbox:
    So I just started getting into cigars even though I never really smoked anything. I've had a few dominicans and really dig different flavors associated with them. What's really getting me into cigars has been my recent wedding. My best man from Spain bought me a box of habanos - Rafael gonzales panetelas extra. I have no real experience with storing cigars and it's showing. I smoked one soon after I got them (great cigar!) but after a month they appear to be dried out. :( They appear harder than before and when I smoked one the wrapping started to crack making it a more difficult smoke. So some questions: 1) how do I reverse the drying without a humidor and keep them humid? What equipment do I need (hygrometer)? 2) I obviously need to shop for humidor. Any recommendations for someone starting out? Something small but can hold humidity perfectly? 3) are my habanos salvageable? Any and all advice are greatly appreciated! Cheers, J