Home Cigar 101

Cellophane wrappers

y2pascoey2pascoe Posts: 1,727 ✭✭

Hi cigar forums,

I'm very new to smoking cigars and I'm finding there is quite a learning curve to it, albeit a fun one.  My wonderful girlfriend just bought me a beautiful 150 cigar, personalized humidor, along with about 40 premium cigars, half of which are 90+ rated.  My question is, is it better to take the cellophane wrappers off the sticks when storing in a humidor, leave it on, or does it even matter?

Comments

• sightunseensightunseen Posts: 2,130 ✭✭
    It comes down to personal preference. Cellophane is a permeable material, so moisture can reach your cigars. Some people take it off for appearance or for better aging. I like to leave mine on because it provides a layer of protection as I tend to rifle through my humidor when looking for a smoke. Welcome to the forums.
  • y2pascoey2pascoe Posts: 1,727 ✭✭
    Thanks, sightunseen.  Love the avatar.  "My spoon's too big!"
  • laker1963laker1963 Posts: 5,046
    y2pascoe:

Hi cigar forums,

I'm very new to smoking cigars and I'm finding there is quite a learning curve to it, albeit a fun one.  My wonderful girlfriend just bought me a beautiful 150 cigar, personalized humidor, along with about 40 premium cigars, half of which are 90+ rated.  My question is, is it better to take the cellophane wrappers off the sticks when storing in a humidor, leave it on, or does it even matter?

Welcome to the Forums bro'. It is totally up to you as to the question of the cello wrapper. Some leave them on for extra protection when rummaging through your humi. Others like to remove them , as they consider it a benefit to aging. Some Premium sticks don't come with any cello on them from the factory... it is all a personal choice.