Options

Illinois Residents just got raped!

KriegKrieg Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭
Looks like your income taxes are being raised 66%! That's ridiculous... link

"Long ashes my friends."

Comments

• Options
    mfotismfotis Posts: 720 ✭✭
    I'm not a resident of Illinois and the fact that taxes are going up for them sucks but I guess it depends on what the income tax is now. I.e. if the income tax is 2% and it goes up by 66% then the new tax is only 3.?? %. Still sucks but it may not be as bad as the news is making out to be.

Just did some research, Illinois tax is currently at 3% the new law would push it up to 5.25%, yes that sucks. It seems most states that have an income tax, their rates are between 6% to 11%

I'm not a tax expert and this information was garnered from wikipedia and a CBS online news article.
  • Options
    xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    As one Illinois legislator recently said, "Illinois has become a boon to Florida's economy"

No income tax FTW!!

• Options
    fla-gypsyfla-gypsy Posts: 3,023 ✭✭
    As long as states with stupid legislators keep raising taxes we will not need to down here, they eventually end up here to spend their money with us.
  • Options
    t_evan50t_evan50 Posts: 1,725
    As a former southern illinois resident I have to say that is a ****. Who really gets screwed is the people that don't live in chicago, which is where 90% of there money is going.
  • Options
    VulchorVulchor Posts: 4,848 ✭✭✭✭
    This is odd because our FL economy is based around people working for minimum wage at tourist hotels and the wealth of those who visit here. Hearing economy and Florida in the same sentence are laughable.
  • Options
    Joeyjoe21_8Joeyjoe21_8 Posts: 2,048