Home Non Cigar Related
Options

beer thats not hoppy

roland_7707roland_7707 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭
This may be a silly topic, but is there a beer that does not taste like hopps? Like cigars, I'm still new at this too and the few that I'v had, had an overwhelming flavor of hopps. One was Sam Adams Octoberfest and the other was a Corona. Trying to branch out, but not sure which direction to go. Thanks for your help.
One God, One Truth

Comments

• Options
    docbp87docbp87 Posts: 3,521
    Corona has very little hoppiness to it... To really tell the difference between a hoppy and a malty flavor, drink a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, and a Guinness. Guinness has a VERY heavy roasty malt flavor, where the SN PA is basically nothing but bitter hoppiness. If you're just getting into beer, like, never had beer before, I will tell you, for most people it is an acquired taste. Don't give up. Even I didn't care for beer when i first started drinking, but boy I basically NEED the stuff these days.
  • Options
    bigharpoonbigharpoon Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭
    Pale ales, IPAs, ESBs, etc. will have a strong hop flavor. Darker, richer beers will still have hops but the sweetness of the malt will be the dominant flavor. Porters and stouts have a very dark, chocolatey sometimes bitter sweet flavor. Ambers and reds have mostly a sweet flavor and a medium body. Experimentation is a wonderful journey so enjoy it. Coronas, Bud, Coors, etc. are all light lager and in a category to themselves. Octoberfests, Marzens and most winter ales are also lagers but actually taste good. Ales are where my heart lies and most micro-brews are ales.
  • Options
    skweekzskweekz Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭
    docbp87:
    I basically NEED the stuff these days.

+1....big time
  • Options
    415415 Posts: 951
    Try a Belgian Ale.
  • Options
    wwhwangwwhwang Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭