Home Cigar 101
Options

Giving the taste buds a break....

Does anyone out there find that you need to take a break from cigars for a few days or longer to reset your palette? I am finding that I am missing subtle tastes in my cigars and am thinking of taking a break for a few days. Most everything I am smoking seems to just taste muddy.

Comments

• Options
    RCY_CigarsRCY_Cigars Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭
    It's been talked about before. I drink V8 juice, this helps reset my palate. There are other things you can do. But this is what works for me. You might want to try that. If not, others use tonic water. I don't like the taste of that unless it's with a drink, lol. The acid in these drinks helps replenish your tatse buds. I'm no expert but, I'm pretty sure the more knowledgable guys on here will chime in any minute.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    i dont smoke enough to really have this problem. yes there are days where i have two cigars. yes there are weeks where i have a cigar every day. but usually i naturally dont have a cigar every day.
    like i said, this usually isnt a problem for me.
    i also tend to smoke medium cigars more often than not. if i was smoking 2-3 full power cigars a day i would be a bit more worried about blowing out my palate.
  • Options
    Hawk55Hawk55 Posts: 846
    Schweppes (sp) OR Canada Dry Bitter Lemon drink helps a lot. Not that I smoke more than one a day at best..
  • Options
    MTuccelliMTuccelli Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭
    My taste buds know if they act up I will smoke them into submission!!
  • Options
    DiamondogDiamondog Posts: 4,169
    Try Club soda....
  • Options
    mfotismfotis Posts: 720 ✭✭
    I go the mater juice route as well, well it's more like a bloody mary but with only pepper, tobasco and salt.
  • Options
    fla-gypsyfla-gypsy Posts: 3,023 ✭✭
    MTuccelli:
    My taste buds know if they act up I will smoke them into submission!!