Home Cigar 101

Mold on my humidifier

RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
I've been getting mold on my humidifier. I keep cleaning it off but it keeps coming back . Mostly whiteish but I've got a black patch lately. Also are their any digital hygrometers that won't look stupid sticking out the front of my humidor?

Comments

• KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    I'm not an expert, and am coming back into this slowly, but black mold on a humi is not a good thing, or something to be taken lightly.

I did extensive internet research on this after almost buying a used humi off craigslist that had mold in it - owner said just wipe with bleach solution it, dry it out - no problem...............uh........not so fast Sammy.
    I saw telltale signs of previous attempts to resolve the mold issue, to no avail. I then went home and did the research.

You can continue can try and fix it - google the many techniques people use.

If it's a cheap humi - I'd ditch it if it didn't clean up permanently after the first attempt.
    But that's just me.
    If it's an expensive humi - I might try a few times, but probably end up having to ditch it anyway.
  • xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    Get rid of the crappy puck humidifier - they always grow mold. Get some Heartfelt or Conservagel beads and use distilled water to keep them charged.
  • kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    xmacro:
    Get rid of the crappy puck humidifier - they always grow mold. Get some Heartfelt or Conservagel beads and use distilled water to keep them charged.
    you can still get mold on those if you keep them overly charged. 50-17% charged is the way to go here.
  • JonathanEJonathanE Posts: 401
    Hi, Rhamlin! Let us know if what ends up working as you deal with your mold problem. I have't had that problem myself as of yet but I'd like to be prepared in advance in case I see it later on! Good luck!
    JDE
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭