Home General Discussion
Options

What Went Wrong???

Hello, I'm new to cigars, I started smoking cigars while golfing and have enjoyed my limited experience so far.  I've had a few cigars that I have really enjoyed, some I've liked, and some that have turned me green (that must be why they call it a green oscuro).  I have found that the cigars I enjoy are sancho panza, rocky patel, ghurka lxIII platinum (i had to try one but they are wayyyyy out of my price range)  I don't like don pepin garcia JJ, 5 vegas miami, or cohiba.  I've decided so far my favorite is the rocky patel 1990 perfecto (factory seconds - hey i'm on a budget). 

Well, I decided to try the 1990 in a petite corona so I ordered a couple.  I went to a bar w/ a friend so we could smoke a cigar (i'm finding it a lot more difficult to smoke cigars in the winter) and I was all excited to have a rocky patel in my hand and the thing was a mess from the beginning.  Firstly, I didn't feel it smelled right - It didn't have the smell I expected, I don't have the proper vocabulary to share with you how it smelled but it didn't smell right.  When I started smoking it things were just as bad, it was difficult to draw, tasted horrific and still didn't smell good.  I have no idea what went wrong.  Do you sometimes just get bad cigars??  Sorry I couldn't be more descriptive, any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    KriegKrieg Posts: 5,188 ✭✭✭
    where did you buy this cigar from? That is quite shocking for a Rocky Patel to have such problems if it was stored properly, I have had many RPs, and never had any of the problems you listed, but I also haven't smoked RP seconds either.

"Long ashes my friends."

• Options
    kaspera79kaspera79 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭