Home General Discussion
Options

Cigar Questions concerning putting in humidor???

ok, so im a pretty smart guy, got a college degree majoring in biology. with that said, im familiar with what im about to ask, but want others opinions.

ok, most cigars i see are wrapped in a plastic. question is, when my humidor is set up, should i leave plastic on or take it off???

i've read alot and most say the plastic allows moisture to go in and out keeping the cigar at the right humidity in a humidor.

others say if you take off the plastic, the flavors can "marry" and basically all taste the same.

im new to cigars, but not new to biology which deals with how water vapor moves. SO, if the plastic can allow humidity to get to the cigar in the humidor, then smell and flavor can ALSO get to other cigars.

so heres my thing, if its breathable, then it dont matter if its on or off, they flavors could marry anyway. if its not breathable then no humidity would be getting in or out in the humidor.

so what is your opinion? leave it on or take it off? i have a smaller 20 cigar humidor on the way as well as a variety of cigars, so there will be different types all in the same box. yes, i will season the humidor first.

so, plastic on or off? and give your reasons why.

Comments

• Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    I leave the cellophane on simply because it adds a level of protection. I used to store my cigars sans cello and I can't tell you how many cracked, split and chipped wrappers I had.
  • Options
    Russ55Russ55 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭
    This is the most asked, most over-thought question I see in the cigar word. I don't say that to be antagonistic, but rather just as a general observation.

My thoughts on this subject are: It's not plastic. It's Cellophane, so humidity can freely flow through it. It adds a layer of protection that I like, so I leave it on.
  • Options
    JSaintJSaint Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭
    j0z3r: