Home Cigar 101
Options

Palate

big chunksbig chunks Posts: 1,607
i was just wondering how long did it take for you guys to start picking up subtle notes, ive been smoking regularly for about 10 months now and i know what i like but i cant seem to define some notes that i read about

Comments

• Options
    spindriftspindrift Posts: 818 ✭✭
    Kinda new myself, but this thread was interesting.... http://www.cigar.com/cs/forums/thread/10439.aspx
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    spindrift:
    Kinda new myself, but this thread was interesting.... http://www.cigar.com/cs/forums/thread/10439.aspx
    high five there buddy.
    im glad you liked that thread.
    it took me a good long while to really understand what i was smoking. i read a lot of reviews and i kept tasting notes.

in fact, i would say that the biggest help to me in my cigar journey was keeping my catalog. i learned a lot from that. i also paid a ton of attention to how things tasted. i didnt just eat food, but i actively tasted it. the more i understood what common foods tasted like, the more i understood what cigars tasted like.
    dont get discouraged if you cant pick out "shitake mushrooms grown in southern china and picked in a mid afternoon rain shower"
    things like that are BS.

at some point all that matters is if you like it or you dont. its fun to understand why but it isnt NEEDED. just enjoy it for what it is. the rest will come in time. dont rush it... mainly because you cant.

in that thread posted in the above post there are flavor wheels that will point out many common tastes in cigars, and some not so common. knowing what you are looking for is the key.
  • Options
    big chunksbig chunks Posts: 1,607