Home General Discussion
Options

Cost

I was looking at a cigar magazine I noticed that a cigar smaller in length and ring gauge was more expensive than the bigger size. I started to think why this would be? I was guessing maybe the most popular, My next question came to me and knowing that there is a mark up on every thing that you buy due to shipping advertising etc. How much does it cost to produce one cigar. Now I know that there are different methods to make certain cigars which add to the cost of making a cigar. but you can get a stick for less than a buck. So I am guessing that those kind of cigars are pretty cheap before they leave the plantations. I would love to go to a Plantation and find out, does any one know?

Comments

• Options
    bass8844bass8844 Posts: 416
    I'm not an expert on this by any means, but there are many costs that factor into the price of a cigar.

Where was the tocacco grown? Different countries have diff. costs.
    How long was the tobacco aged? The longer it ages, the longer it takes up space. Usually companies have large stockpiles of tobacco aging so that they can continually produce cigars that are consistent with one another.
    Who rolled your cigar? Was it a newbie or a grand master torcedor? I'm sure the pay scale differs a bit.
    Supply/Demand? If people really want it, usually the price goes with it.
    Marketing/Packaging? Advertising costs money and so does packaging. Boxed or bundled...the consumer pays the difference.

I know theres a lot of stuff that I've left out, but in a nut shell, price is a large variable.
  • Options
    bass8844:
    I'm not an expert on this by any means, but there are many costs that factor into the price of a cigar.

Where was the tocacco grown? Different countries have diff. costs.