Home Cigar 101

I want to get a pipe... recommendations?

robbyrasrobbyras Posts: 5,487
I know some of you guys are pipe smokers so I thought I'd throw a line out here... I want to get a pipe, but I have no experience and no idea what to look for... I'd like to stay on the cheaper end too, but i don't really want a corn cob pipe... not sure why, i just don't... any input? thoughts on tobacco?

Comments

• you know i've been thinking the same thing. been looking at different websites and have no idea what to get. a little help would be appreciated.
  • robbyrasrobbyras Posts: 5,487
    Hey Kevser... I found this thread from a few years back... Pipe Info

some pretty good info there...
  • jimmyv723jimmyv723 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭
    Smoked a pipe for years but just like with cigars was a once in a while thing. I had a cheap drug store pipe my Mom had got me a long time ago but wanted something nicer. Did some looking around and ended up getting the Peterson Zippo set. For what the Peterson would normally cost by itself you get a nice Peterson Zippo Pipe Lighter as well. Both the pipe and the lighter are great and I really like them a lot.
    Ken Light 3K MOW Badge - 8/14
    2015 Gang War - East Coast
    Enola Gay - Target #29

• thanks, some good info on that thread!
  • docbp87docbp87 Posts: 3,521
    Go to your tobacconist, and see if they have any "Basket Pipes", which are usually seconds or imperfects made by the big names, and offer an opportunity to get a great pipe, that might have a blemish in the grain of the wood, or whatever. I have a few basket pipes, by names like Peterson and Savinelli, that I paid between 25 and 40 dollars a piece for, and they are awesome.
    Thanks Doc! Thats a great idea... I replied to a pipe post in the non cigar forum and Wes replied by saying he was going to send me a pipe along with a pipe tool and an 8 tobacco sampler... what a great guy!
  • DirewolfDirewolf Posts: 3,493